VISIT THE OFFICIAL NORTH SHORE NAVIGATORS BLOG
HTTP://NSNAVS.BLOGSPOT.COM

Friday, April 20, 2007

You'll never see it all

Today at the BC baseball game, I saw the Eagles hit into a triple play with the bases loaded and nobody out, but score a run on the play, tie the game on a HBP with the bases loaded in the 9th, and win on a walk-off fielder's choice.

Baseball is a crazy game.

EDIT: And just a few hours later, the Red Sox put together a very memorable comeback to top the Yankees - just another little reminder that in baseball, anything is possible.

8 comments:

DaveCo said...

wow....what a crazy game!

I wish I was there. Too bad ya didn't bring your camera.

TonyTheTiger20 said...

it was hilarious. i was there too lol.

what happened on that triple play was BC flied to center. everyone tagged up on the play, and the centerfielder threw to second and got the guy running from first to second. that was two outs. then the second baseman appealed at second that the runner going to third left too early, and he was called out. so there's your three outs.

now, the run tagging up and going home counted because (i guess) since not all three outs were forces (the second out had to be a tag) and the run scored before the third out, then the run counts. i guess.

there are not many baseball rules that im unfamiliar with, but this was one of them.

DaveCo said...

lol,joe....ya fogot to menttion how funnny that was :-p

wooden said...

Rule 10.11: The official scorer shall credit participation in a double play or triple play to each fielder who earns a putout or an assist when two or three players are put out between the time a pitch is delivered and the time the ball next becomes dead or is next in possession of the pitcher in a pitching position, unless an error or misplay intervenes between putouts. (Rule 10.11 Comment: The official scorer shall credit a double play or triple play also if an appeal play after the ball is in possession of the pitcher results in an additional putout.)

Most commonly, official scorers miss the part about a misplay, which is any play that prolongs the presence of a batter or baserunner or one that enables a baserunner to advance one or more bases (yes, intentionally dropping a foul ball is excepted). Here's a common example of a "double play" that actually isn't: Runner on 1st, batter grounds to short, who throws to 2nd, who sails the relay to 1st; runner tries to take 2nd but is thrown out, shortstop making the tag, by the catcher backing up the play. This is not a double play because a misplay enabled the runner to reach first base (remember, all errors are misplays but not all misplays are errors). It's scored 6-4 on the baserunner's box, then a fielder's choice on the batter, with a 2-6 on the putout at 2nd (no assists on a misplay).

TonyTheTiger20 said...

there were no misplays in that triple play, no errors or anything were made, it was clean, it was just that one of the outs was a tag out and not a force out.

can you find a rule regarding whether the run scores or not?

wooden said...

Run scores because the baserunner at 3rd base legally tagged up and scored before the 3rd out was made (4.09a). My first instinct was that perhaps the umpires had erred in allowing that run to score, too, but in researching Rule 7.10 and 7.12, they got the call right.

Maybe now you guys will cut the umps some slack?

TonyTheTiger20 said...

im not complaining or trying to get on the umps about it, i just want to understand the call.

especially looking at rule 4.09a, it looks like the run should NOT have scored...

wooden said...

The appeal play is not one of the three exceptions delineated in 4.09a, nor was this a force play -- the runners tagged up and advanced at their own discretion, one scored (3B-HP), one left early (2B-3B), and the other was tagged out (1B-2B) according to your description.

There is a comment in Rule 2 that alludes to this situation:
"(Force Play) Comment: Confusion regarding this play is removed by remembering that frequently the “force” situation is removed during the play. Example: Man on first, one out, ball hit sharply to first baseman who touches the bag and batter-runner is out. The force is removed at that moment and runner advancing to second must be tagged. If there had been a runner on third or second, and either of these runners scored before the tag-out at second, the run counts. Had the first baseman thrown to second and the ball then had been returned to first, the play at second was a force out, making two outs, and the return throw to first ahead of the runner would have made three outs. In that case, no run would score.
Example: Not a force out. One out. Runner on first and third. Batter flies out. Two out. Runner on third tags up and scores. Runner on first tries to retouch before throw from fielder reaches first baseman, but does not get back in time and is out. Three outs. If, in umpire’s judgment, the runner from third touched home before the ball was held at first base, the run counts."