VISIT THE OFFICIAL NORTH SHORE NAVIGATORS BLOG
HTTP://NSNAVS.BLOGSPOT.COM

Thursday, August 30, 2007

WTF?

I turned on the radio 5 minutes ago, and the Spirit have seemingly won the game on some sort of walk-off sac fly/error type deal, but the Jackals are convinced that the runner was doubled off to end the inning? Something like that... I don't know... this is really weird, the Spirit and Jackals have been out there for 5 , 6 minutes arguing...

Either way, the Spirit were down 8-7 going into the 9th and tied it --- the question is now whether they have won or not.

Was anyone listening to the play? WTF happened?

10 comments:

Joe Grav said...

So... we won (?) in comeback fashion again

right?

Anonymous said...

The Spirit won!

Anonymous said...

Hough tagged up @ second on the catch, he throw was made 7-4-3 with the jackals contendind he never tagged up at 2nd. Hough then slipped home as the J's kicked the ball around the infield..... unf'n believable!!. Two night in a row; I can't take much more...

Sparky

Anonymous said...

Sorry J's.... no triple play for You'se guys; I LOVE stickin' it to THAT team almost as much as beatin' up on Les Cheatres.

igami said...

My scorecard had it as DP F7-4-1 and E1 for Hough's score as the pitcher tossed the ball back to the mound and left for the dugout, but that's neither here nor there...

Since it was pretty clear to us (sitting behind home) that Hough tagged up at second, we weren't sure if they were arguing that or if there was something else we missed. Craziness.

DaveCo said...

VIDEO OF PLAY FORTHCOMING!
=D

DaveCo said...

Having trouble with video currently.

Will be up by tomorrow afternoon if not a little later tonight,I promise

John Leahy said...

Here is what happened on the last play:

There were runners at first and second with noone out and the score tied 8-8. Nelson Teilon hit a deep fly to left which was miraculously caught on the warning track by Jackals LF Jud Thigpen. Thigpen fired the ball back in to the infield to the second baseman Joe Mihalics, who in turn relayed the throw to first. (7-4-3).

The Jackals contended that it should have been a triple play, as their belief was that Mihalics stepped on second to force Joe Hough at second after receiving the throw and then the relay throw to first doubled up the runner at first. At the conclusion of the play, after reaching third, Joe Hough scampered home as the ball got free in the infield amidst all the confusion.

From the Spirit perspective, their contention was that Hough tagged up at third, was not forced, and was able to score as the ball was live during the ensuing play.

Both sides argued their case and the umpires discussed it for several minutes, with the call ultimately going the Spirit's way.

Joe Grav said...

I'm still confused. Happy, but confused. :)

wooden said...

Gentlemen, this one's easier than a drunken sorority girl:

Rule 7.10d
Any appeal under this rule must be made before the next pitch, or any play or attempted play. If the violation occurs during a play which ends a half-inning, the appeal must be made before the defensive team leaves the field.